Today's Memory

~ ♫ ♪ ♫ ~

~ ♫ ♪ ♫ ~

~ ♫ ♪ ♫ ~

I play the notes as they are written, but it is God who makes the music

Johann Sebastian Bach


March 31, 1685, Eisenach, Saxe-Eisenach – 28 July 1750, Leipzig


Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist of the Baroque period.

Born to a musical family, he became a superbly well-rounded musician; from 1700 he held positions as singer, violinist, and organist. His first major appointment, in 1708, was as organist at the ducal court at Weimar. This was followed by a six-year stay (1717-1723) as kapellmeister at the princely court of Kthen, which was in turn followed by his appointment as cantor at the great church of St. Thomas in Leipzig, where he would remain for the rest of his life. Imbued with the northern German contrapuntal style ( counterpoint) from early childhood, he encountered the lively Italian style, especially in the works of Antonio Vivaldi, about 1710, and much of his music embodies an immensely convincing melding of the two styles. At St. Thomas he wrote more than 200 church cantatas. His orchestral works include the six Brandenburg Concertos, four orchestral suites, and many harpsichord concertos, a genre he invented. His solo keyboard works include the great didactic set The Well-Tempered Clavier (1722 and 1742), the superb Goldberg Variations (1742), the massive but unfinished Art of the Fugue (1749), numerous suites, and many organ preludes and fugues. His surviving choral works include (in addition to the sacred cantatas) more than 30 secular cantatas, two monumental Passions, and the Mass in B Minor. His works, never widely known in his lifetime, went into near-total eclipse after his death, and only in the early 19th century were they revived, to enormous acclaim. He was perhaps the most accomplished organist and harpsichordist of his time. Today Bach is regarded as the greatest composer of the Baroque era, and, by many, as the greatest composer of all time.

More on: 


Concerto for Four Harpsichords in A minor 



0 comentarii la „~ ♫ ♪ ♫ ~

  1. 이옥희 This is a genius, love his music so much! Have a great weekend!

  2. Today’s Memory

    Un Inger!💙💟

Lasă un răspuns

%d blogeri au apreciat: