Today's Memory

Grażyna Bacewicz

Grażyna Bacewicz

February 5, 1909, Łódź – 17 January 1969

Grażyna Bacewicz was a Polish composer and violinist. She is only the second Polish female composer to have achieved national and international recognition, the first being Maria Szymanowska in the early 19th century.

Many of her compositions feature the violin. Among them are seven violin concertos, five sonatas for violin with piano, three for violin solo (including an early, unnumbered one from 1929), a Quartet for four violins, seven string quartets, and two piano quintets. Her orchestral works include four numbered symphonies (1945, 1951, 1952, and 1953), a Symphony for Strings (1946), and two early symphonies, now lost.

More on:

Grazyna Bacewicz – Piano Sonata No. 2 & Piano Quintets


0 comentarii la „Grażyna Bacewicz

Lasă un răspuns

%d blogeri au apreciat: