Istoria României România frumoasă Today's Memory

Today’s Memory – Symphony No. 2 in A major by George Enescu

George Enescu

The Symphony No. 2 in A major, Op. 17 by George Enescu premiered in Bucharest

15 March 1915

Enescu began writing his Second Symphony late in 1912, and the manuscript score specifies the date of completion on 18 November 1914. The composer conducted its premiere by the Orchestra of the Ministry of Public Education at the Athenaeum in Bucharest on 15 March (Old Style/29 March New Style) 1915. It was only performed once in Enescu’s life-time, he wasn’t satisfied with the result, and set aside the manuscript, which was not performed again until Iosif Conta (Romanian Conductor of National Radio Orchestra of Romania) revived the symphony in 1961, six years after the composer’s death.

The symphony is scored for 3 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 3 clarinets, 3 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in C, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, triangle, bass drum, tomtoms, snare drum, cymbals, castanets, tam-tam, tambourine, glockenspiel, celesta, piano and harmonium, harp, strings.

More on:

George Enescu – Symphony No. 2 in A Major

#todaysmemory #istoriaRomaniei #Romaniafrumoasa

0 comentarii la „Today’s Memory – Symphony No. 2 in A major by George Enescu

Lasă un răspuns

%d blogeri au apreciat: