România frumoasă

Today’s Memory – Eine kleine Nachtmusik

10 - Wolfgang-Amadeus-Mozart-Eine-kleine-Nachtmusik

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart completed his chamber piece Eine kleine Nachtmusik

10 August 1787


Eine kleine Nachtmusik, Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major, K. 525, is a composition written for an ensemble of two violins, viola, and cello with optional double bass, but is often performed by string orchestras. The German title means A little serenade and was completed in Vienna on 10 August 1787, around the time Mozart was working on the second act of his opera Don Giovanni.

The traditionally used name of the work comes from the entry Mozart made for it in his personal catalog, which begins, Eine kleine Nacht-Musik. As Zaslaw and Cowdery point out, Mozart almost certainly was not giving the piece a special title, but only entering in his records that he had completed a little serenade.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, Slovak Chamber Orchestra, Conductor Bohdan Warchal The work was not published until about 1827, long after Mozart’s death, by Johann André in Offenbach am Main. It had been sold to this publisher in 1799 by Mozart’s widow Constanze, part of a large bundle of her husband’s compositions.

More on:

În limba română:


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, Wiener Philharmoniker, Conductor Karl Bohm



0 comentarii la „Today’s Memory – Eine kleine Nachtmusik

Lasă un răspuns